Effective August 28, 2019, requirements for Missouri safety and emissions inspections have changed. Prior to August 28, 2019, ith several exceptions, Missouri law required that cars and light trucks registered in Missouri undergo bi-annual safety and emissions inspections. Even year vehicles were inspected in even years, and odd year vehicles were inspected in odd years This has changed. Now, with a few exceptions, Missouri safety inspections are not required until a vehicle is more than 10 years old, or the vehicle’s odomoter has exceeded 150,000 miles.
The safety inspection insures that vehicles on Missouri roads meet a minimum safety standard of safety. Items checked include lighting, mirrors, glass, brakes, windshield wipers, suspension, and steering components. The state mandated maximum fee for a safety inspection is $12. If a vehicle fails an inspection and the owner elects to correct the failed item, he or she may perform the repairs themselves or have the repairs performed by an individual or shop. Regardless of where the vehicle is repaired, the owner has 20 working days to submit the vehicle for a free re-inspection. After 20 working days, the owner may be required to pay for another inspection. On a re-inspection, only items that failed the initial inspection may be re-check by an inspector/mechanic.
10 Year Requirement
If a vehicle is less than 10 years old, a Missouri safety inspection is generally not required for a license renewal. (For example, a 2010 model year vehile will not reuire a safety inspection until 2022.) Once a vehicle has surpassed 150,000 miles, a safety inspection will be reuired every tow years, regardless of model year.
The transfer of a vehicle’s title also triggers the requirement for a safety inspection. For more information about safety inspection requirements, click: link.
Cars and light trucks that are registered in the City of St. Louis, St. Louis County, St. Charles County, and Franklin County that are from the 1996 model year, or newer, are also required to undergo a bi-annual emissions inspection for which the maximum fee is $24. The emissions test in Missouri consists of a test of a vehicle’s OBDII emissions system. The inspector mechanic will plug a computer device into the OBDII data port of a vehicle and test the emissions system. If a certain number of monitors have run, and if the “Check Engine Light” is not illuminated, the vehicle will pass the Missouri emissions inspection. The part about having monitors run is very important; if the monitors have not run because the battery has recently been disconnected or if stored codes have been cleared, the vehicle will not pass the emissions inspection. The owner of a vehicle that has failed an emissions inspection may repair the vehicle him or herself or have it repaired by a repair shop or individual. Also, the motorist has 20 working days to get a free emissions re-inspection. The transfer of a title also triggers the requirement for an emissions inspection. For more information about emissions testing requirements, click: link.
Additional Reuirements for License Plate Renewal
The easiest way to renew License Plates is to take your required inspections, along with proof of insurance and two years worth of personal propery tax receipts to a Missouri fee office. For a list of places where you can renew your license plates, click here.
For more information about Missouri safety and emissions inspections, please either give us a call at 314-849-2900 or check out one of the links that we have provided. Thanks again.